Owning A Replica

I’d always thought that if I ever bought a classic car that I’d want to buy a replica. Why? Becuase I felt that the main reason people want a certain car is becuase of how it looks, at least that’s how I think of it.

I figure that owning a replica has two advantages, 1) typically a replica is going to be less expensive because it is not the “real” thing and thus has less collectible value. 2) Owning a replica is a lot less stressful because you don’t have to worry as much about the item being damaged or stolen; it can easily be replaced.

This is how I feel about my hi wheel. The fact that it is a replica puts me at ease. I am not as worried about actually riding it. I’m not as worried if it gets a ding. Sure I’m not out to treat it poorly or to not care about it, but I don’t feel as much pressure to preserve it as it is not a true piece history.

Leave a comment

Filed under Hi Wheel, Random/Thoughts

Leave a Reply

