Support The Scene

I will be the first to admit that I could be trying harder when it comes to trying to establish a quote, unquote Hi Wheel Scene. However, as with most things, I don’t really know where to start. Now, if I’m honest, I don’t really expect to see hi wheels make a huge re-emergence in the public eye, specifically in the Boston area. However, I don’t even know where the regular bike scene is.

In the sake of full disclosure, Suicycles is a joke. It may have been a “bike gang” at Fitchburg State, but I had already left there before it took off. I really only know one “member” and I don’t think she is really super into it or into making it more legit. The most interaction I had with another bicyclist was the other day (the 24th) when I biked into Boston. I was on a street in traffic (I was on my regular bike, not the hi wheel) and I saw a fellow rider splitting lanes and riding through traffic. For a short stretch we were brothers brought together by cycling.

Riding in and through traffic  can be so exhilarating. I’m usually to much of a pussy to go full out on my own. (Typically I get scared or nervous that I’m riding too slow and either stick to the bike lane, or hop onto the sidewalk). If I just had one other more confident, more experienced rider to lead me, I would have no problem splitting lanes.

I’m sorry this about this rant and I’m not trying to hold a pitty party* for myself, but when I see stuff like this it makes me really want a scene, hi wheel or not, to exist in Boston. Or, if one already does, I’d like to try and join it.

*Has anyone actually ever held a pitty party?

Leave a comment

Filed under Random/Thoughts

Leave a Reply

