Bike Ride + TDK Rises

On Thurs my day was split into two parts; the morning/afternoon which consisted of yet another bike ride/Boston adventure and the evening which consisted of me going finally to see The Dark Knight Rises.

—The Bike Ride—

For a description of my exact route, click the “View Larger Map” link which will take you to Google Maps. There you will see on the left side of the page the step by step, turn by turn, street by street route I took. The only things missing on Google Maps are the details of what I actually did at various locations and how the ride ended. For that info, see below.

Step 4, I turned onto Brookline Ave because going straight seemed to lead out of the city and into Newton.

While doing Step 7 I got a great view of the Citgo Sign for a distance. I was Bridge right over the Green Line – Fenway station.

Shortly after Step 10 I stopped and got some picture of this cool (or at least cool to me) parking structure I had seen a few days previous on a different adventure but at the time I didn’t have my camera on me.

Just before Step 11 I stopped at the International Bike Shop on Brighton Ave.

In the middle of Step 15 and Step 16 I stopped at another bike shop on the right side of the street.

Step 28; while passing through Corridor Park I stopped outside the dorm-looking building to my right to get a picture of the huge Shepard Fairey  installation I could see in the lobby through the big glass windows.

After (B) I cut through the Northeastern campus, took the ramp/bridge over the Orange Line train tracks, took a right onto huntington, and right onto Mass Ave. and back into the station to go home.

—The Movie—

Scary– This may not be the appropriate word for what I felt. The movie wasn’t “scary” in a conventional horror movie sense, however the way the events unfolded, it made what happened in Begins and TDK look like no big deal. Perhaps dark is more appropriate but even that seems a bit wrong. It’s just that all the things that Bane does -and how ruthless he is- feels too real, feels like it could happen today. Regardless of if “scary” is the right word -again, I’m not sure of the exact word I’m looking for- I think you’ll know what I mean.
Rise– during the scene in the prison (“hell”) when bruce is about to make what ends up being his last attempt to climb to the top; something about the conversation he has with the old man in the cell next to him about -the re-occurring theme of fear and not using the rope- combined with Bruce asking the other man “What are they saying, what does it mean” “Rise” combined with the music and his slow climb to the top made me tear up. It was a very powerful scene and one of my favorites in the movie. I got chills.
The City– this probably didn’t have as much of an impact on you because you watched them in reverse order, but The city looked completely different than it did in the first two movies. In the first one it does look a bit more sci-fi with the addition of the elevated monorail, however, you can still tell it was shot in Chicago. In The Dark Knight you can very clearly tell it’s still Chicago posing as Gotham.
 But, in TDK RIses it looks completely different. It looks a lot more like New York and in fact in the first establishing shot of the city you can clearly make out the Empire State Building. Also, the bridges that were being blown up looked a lot like the Washington and the Brooklyn.
Additionally I thought I saw a fairly famous building plucked from the LA skyline and dropped in to Gotham. I don’t know if Nolan wanted to disguise the city better or if they couldn’t get the rights to shoot in Chicago again, but it felt very different. By the way, this is not so much a critique as it is an observation.
Bat symbol– when Bruce returns to Gotham to “save the day” and he sets fire to the huge Bat Symbol on the bridge to show Bane he’s back, I got chills and almost cried.
“Betray”– when Batman and Bane have their first fight, Bane is talking about the league and is talking about what a foolish attempt it is turing off the light, and then turns around, grabs Batman and says, “The shadows betray you because they belong to me.” I Loved That Moment. I Loved That Line.
Cell phone– the guy sitting next to me pulled out his cell phone to text three times during the movie! I said something the first time and it didn’t stop him. Didn’t say anything the second time, but by the third time I was like “C’mon man PLEASE” and he put it away. It was so rude and so distracting. People like that piss me off.
Catwoman– I thought that Anne Hathaway (who I’m in love with) did an excellent job with the role. Right at the beginning when she gets caught by Bruce she does a subtle smirk that changes the feel of her character from “maid” to Catwoman. It was in the subtlety of the performance that she shined.
“Why do we fall”– again, I’m not trying to be a film snob, but if you’d have seen them in order I think this would have had a greater impact on you. After the first or second attempt Bruce makes to climb out of the prison, they flash back to the scene from Begins where his father says “Why do we fall?” Even before they flashed back to that scene, I was thinking it, and then they did. It was great.
Plane drop– when Bane presses the button that makes the connectors explode and makes the plane fall out from below them ruthlessly killing the remaining survivors that was intense.
Batman’s back– the way Batman makes his first appearance into the movie, dimming the lights in the tunnel, killing the power to the cars, and then slowly coming into frame; I got CHILLS.
Random side notes:
IMAX– unlike my buddy Pete, I am not a proponent for HAVING TO SEE A MOVIE IN IMAX. That being said, I did feel the hugeness of it made for a very powerful impact.
Jared– we get out of the theatre and Pete goes to the bathroom. I look up and notice someone wearing an SWS (my friend’s old band) shirt. It’s my friend’s friend Jeff who I run over to and give a hug. Suddenly, I look over and sitting on a couch* is my friend Jared. Jared is the one who was in the band that Jeff was wearing the shirt for. I went to college with Jared and we were roommates in an apartment his senior year. I knew he was a comic book guy and a HUGE Batman fan. In fact I was thinking of him during the movie because I figured he probably went opening night and I wanted to know what he thought. It was so weird that coincidentally he was seeing it for his third time and that we ran into each other. I love when stuff like that happens.
Debriefing– My sister and I had a 2 hour debriefing conversation when I got home last night. She had seen it the night before and was dying to discuss it with me. It was an intense talk.
Leave a comment

Filed under Biking, Hi Wheel

Leave a Reply

