Victorian BMX

On Tuesday I visited a place I hadn’t been to in about 9 years. I hopped on the hi wheel and took a ride down to the Wakefield BMX park. I had been there once before with a couple friends when I was still age appropriate to ride my BMX bike. On Tuesday however, I was bored and decided to take a ride down to the track just to see if it lived up to my one memory of it.

This post marks the second post in which I’ve made reference to the incredible [adult swim] game Victorian BMX. However, I feel that in this post, the reference was much more appropriate.

I arrived at around 4:30-ish and, luckily, no one was there. I had no intention of riding on the course, I mainly just went to see if I remembered how to get there and see what it was (still) like. I walked down to the track and, pushing the hi wheel, began walking the track in the reverse direction.

At about the halfway point I got tired of walking and thought, “I wonder if this thing [the bike] would be able to handle the dirt.” At the crest of one of the table top jumps I hopped on the bike and slowly rode my way throught the course. The dirt was surprisingly smooth. The tires didn’t sink in and the bike actually handled it very well. So well in fact that I grew a pair and rode the track from the starting drop-in.

Well, not all the way from the top of the drop-in, but about halfway down. It was so pleasant that I had to do it a second time. Upon completion of my second lap, a mini-van pulled up and a young kid got out with his BMX bike to “rip up the course.” This was my cue to leave.

My one regret was that there wasn’t a second person there to document what I’m sure must have been a fantastically silly sight. All I shot was this picture of the course layout from the top of the drop-in ramp.

All this means is that I’ll have to go back with a camera crew (this means you Pete) to get some sweet pics, and maybe some vid (we should use the jib), of me riding on the course on the hi wheel. Until then, that’s all for now.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Biking, Hi Wheel

Leave a Reply

