The Fastest Hour On Television

Boardwalk Empire is “the fastest hour on television” according to my Dad. I never thought of it that way, but he’s right. Season 3 of Boardwalk Empire creeped up on me this past Sunday. My dad called up to me, saying that it was on. Watching this HBO original series has been a ritual of ours since last year (the first season it was on I was still at school).

I love BE, that’s why I was surprised when my Dad told me that the season 3 premier was starting. Usually I’m on top of that stuff, but this time there was no warning. Usually youtube or some other banner add will alert me to its reemergence. The plus side to not knowing was that its return was a surprise. Also, I didn’t have to sit around and wait and anticipate what the first episode was going to be, I just dove right in.

From what I can tell from this first episode, the writing and the acting has not missed a beat. The episode was filled with the same surprisingly violent (as well as non-violent) curve balls as in seasons past, and, if this episode was representative of the rest of the season, then I look forward to seeing what’s to come.

—BE in the 50s

My friend told me about a show that I began to catch up on (using On Demand) called Magic City on Stars. Magic City is Boardwalk Empire except set in the 50s (instead of the 20s) in Miami (as opposed to Atlantic City).

MC stars Jeffery Dean Morgan (The Comedian in Watchman) and Olga Kurylenko (the “bond girl” from Quantum of Solace). Like BE, MC features a lot of uncensored cursing, nudity, and violence. What more could you ask for from a TV series. MC is not nearly as good -in story line, characters, and overall quality*-  as BE, but it’s still entertaining.

*Which is a shame becuase I think the 50s are cooler than the 20s

Leave a comment

Filed under Random/Thoughts

Leave a Reply

