No Shave November

I decided that this year I am going to participate in No Shave November. Movember,* as it is sometimes referred to, is a time when you grow out your mustache and/or beard as long as you can for the entire month of November.

The goal is to see how manly your face can get in 30 days. It is also a tribute to laziness, because let’s face it, who likes shaving.

If you want to do it right (and I didn’t) you should shave on the 31st of October so that you are starting with a clean slate on November 1st. I was too lazy to do this and so my face was given a bit of a hairy head start. Nonetheless, I fully intend to not trim or shave my beard until the end of the month. Who knows, maybe this will be my invitation to rock the handlebar look again, along side a great, big, bushy, beard.

*Movember also has a noble cause behind it that I’m actually not noble enough to participate in. That is to raise awareness of prostate cancer and to raise money for prostate cancer treatment research. I have, shamefully, not donated.

I guess you can also get sponsores to sponsor your beard growing-ness and thus help donate to the cause. I am also too lazy to do this.

Lastly, the site has merch that you can buy, that X amount of the proceeds go to the cause. I am too cheap to do this either. However, do not follow my lead and please do be a better person than I and help this noble cause.

PS there are a few Boston area events coming up that are relevant to Movember.

November 13: Mustache Bash Boston – 6pm to 8pm

Alex and Ani Boston
115 Newbury Street
Boston, MA

November 29: Boston Gala Parté – 7pm to 1am

Royale
279 Tremont St
Boston, MA

December 1: The Mustache Dash – 11am to 6pm

Fenway Bars; pub crawl on Lansdowne Street

Leave a comment

Filed under Random/Thoughts

Leave a Reply

