Bitches Brew

It all started maybe about two years ago. I was watching Brew Masters on the Discovery Channel about the re-release of Bitches Brew by Miles Davis on vinyl. In line with this, Dogfish Head was making a limited run of Bitches Brew beer. Upon seeing this I was instantly interested in both the beer and the music.

Over the past 2 years or so I would look for, and occasionally find, a freshly pressed version of Bitches Brew in a record shop and hem and haw over wether or not I should buy it. I knew (know) nothing of Miles Davis or his music besides his name being familiar to me.

Jump to New York, the trip Pete and I were on, and day one was spent looking in record shops for a non-reissue of Bitches Brew. To our misfortune, we were not able to find one. However, the search refreshed it’s existence in my mind.

Jump to a few days ago and we (me, Christian, and Tyler) were hanging out and listening to jazz while working on a project. Then and there I decided that the next time I saw BB in a store, I would buy it without hesitation.

Jump to yesterday and I was in Boston doing a bit of Christmas shopping. I eventually made my way over to the Newbury Comics on Newbury Street with the intention of finding and buying BB. I looked under “M” for Miles Davis, but found nothing. Then, a few feet over, I noticed an entire section dedicated to Miles Davis. Sure enough, after a short search, I found it waiting to be mine. I then made my way over to the counter and and made it official.

—Review

They. Just. Don’t. Make. Music. Like. This. Any. More.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random/Thoughts

Leave a Reply

