D&A Show

For those looking for a more intimate and highly curated fashion trade show, look no further than D&A. Oddly enough, I wasn’t even planning on going to this show, I hadn’t even heard of it before. While on my way to Capsule, I entered Center 548, knowing it was one of the locations where I could get a shuttle that would take me to the show. As it turned out, Center 548 was also hosting their own trade show called D&A.

One of the first people I met at the show was a woman named Barbara Kramer who had curated the show. She was very hospitable to me and helped me feel welcome and comfortable at the event. She encouraged me to walk around, talk to some vendors, and write a post about my experience for my blog. So that is exactly what I did.

Everett - booth

The first booth I visited was Everett. This was a Brooklyn based company that specializes in high end neckwear, neck ties and bow ties. Additionally, for this year, they have introduced suspenders as well. The gents I spoke to were as friendly as they were knowledgeable. They pointed out to me all of the little design qualities of the ties, explained the use of unique materials such as corduroy, and even gave me a bit of a company history. Their product looked really well designed and was something I would be proud to adorn my neck with.

Winter Session - booth

One of the next booths I visited was Winter Session. Based out of Chicago, WS is a husband and wife team that design and make leather goods, such as purses, bags, and wallets. The branding was really crisp and the quality of the materials, as well as the craftsmanship, was really remarkable.

Artfully Disheveled - booth

A couple booths over from Winter Session was another neckware company called Artfully Disheveled. Where as Everett’s style felt more classic and gentlemanly, reminiscent of pipes, handlebar mustaches, and Jesse Tyler Ferguson. Artfully Disheveled felt more hitting the town dressed up for a party at a fancy nightclub, with mixed drinks and a DJ.

Neither one is necessarily better than the other, it really just depends on what occasion you’re going for and what look you’re trying to achieve. Additionally, AD got a few points in my book because Palmer, the man I spoke to, had just moved to the South End of Boston.

Szen - booth

The next booth I went to was for a clothing company called Szen. The woman I spoke to, Caitlin, was really cool to talk to. She told me about how the sweaters and hoodies were all (hand?) made in Italy out of this very fine and light knit material. Additionally, when I asked what was in a small sack that was hanging where a tag should be (on the inside neck of the sweater) she opened it up and revealed to me that it contained a piece of paper with the companies history on it. Upon asking if I could take a picture of it, she just gave it to me! It was pretty rad.

Sahaja - booth

Lastly, though this booth wasn’t really my taste or style in terms of fashion, I had to give a shout out to Sahaja because the man running it was originally from Boston and he was really cool to talk to.

One of the coolest things about D&A was that it really allowed visitors to get a lot of one on one time with the vendors. The show felt more personal because of that and had a real nice charm to it. Additionally, because of it’s size, one could see the whole show in a fairly short amount of time and it was not overwhelming at all. D&A turned out to be a pleasant surprise and added that much more to my visit to New York.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random/Thoughts

Leave a Reply

