Headphones For Sale

I have had the idea for a long time now to buy a pair of (Plattan) Urbanears headphones and paint the Japanese rising sun on them. (The rising sun would be on the right side, the left would just have a red circle -like on the Japanese flag- centered in the middle). Since the ear pads are flat, they make the perfect canvas.

Unbanears Plattan headphones - Japanese rising sun

The only problem I found when trying them on is that the ear pads are too small for my liking. Therefore, it would be pointless to buy a pair of $60 headphones just to make artwork out of them. Besides, I already have headphones of my own and there’s nothing wrong with them. I’ve spray-painted the ones I have but I did kind of a crappy job, and the ear pads aren’t flat.

I first got the idea to paint -or add design to- my headphones from Linkin Park’s drummer (or bass player or something) who gets his headphones professionally painted with artwork.

I pitched the idea of painting headphones to a friend and she suggested that I design and then sell them. This was actually a great idea, but it left me with a bunch of questions: Would they sell? How would I market them? Would I be able to make money (buy for $60 and sell for $70 or $80)?Would people really pay 10 to 20 bucks extra for a pair of “artist” edition painted headphones that they could have made themselves?

I don’t know the answers to these questions, but it makes me think that perhaps -once I get some money that I can spend frivolously- I will make a prototype and see what I can do with them. Perhaps where them out and see if they get noticed, or simply look for venues, such as craft fares, at which to sell them.

Idea Copyright Kyle DeStefano 2013.

Also, this is dope.

Leave a comment

Filed under Scheme

Leave a Reply

