What Famine

Almost exactly a month ago, my friend Dilila sent me an e-mail that simply said, “Pump This” and had a link to a bandcamp page. I then clicked the link and upon listening to the first song, instantly recognized her voice.

What Famine - album cover

I didn’t even know that she had formed or was in a band (though I did know that she plays guitar and loves to sing and has recorded music before) or that she had recorded an EP. Regardless, I gave it a listen and true to Dilila’s musical style, found it to be a solid easy going collection of songs. Her poetry/song writing abilities are so solid.

The lyrics are pretty straight forward and not super shrouded in metaphor to be cryptic; in fact, quite the opposite. Her songs tell beginning-to-end stories that, regardless of whether or not you know her like I do, are really fun and interesting to listen to.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random/Thoughts

Leave a Reply

