Mods VS Rockers | Cafe Racer

Getting into Motorcycles was something that I’d wanted to do for a while. Back in August of 2009 I got my motorcycle license behind my parents back (they did eventually find out). The only problem is that they said that I wasn’t allowed to get a bike as long as I’m living under their roof. As you know, since then, I’ve greased their wheels to the point where they’ve allowed me to get a motorcycle, but they still won’t let me register or ride it.

So, the urge for me to move out has been pretty high, but, in order to do that I need to get a real job; easier said than done. Additionally, I am comfortable with not having to pay for things while living at home… so there’s that.

I realize this video is from 2 Mods vs Rockers ago but I like it better than the 2012 one.

Additionally, I’ve been trying to find a “Cafe Scene” in the New England area. This is all I’ve really been able to find. Also, on that page there is a link to this page [circle one one] but I’m not sure how the two are associated.

As you can see from the video above, there seems to be a strong collection of “Cafe Racer” people in Chicago. I’m pretty sure their Mods VS Rockers -taking place June 14 and 15- is the biggest in the country.

Since finding out about this one and looking more on the CRoNE FB page I’ve found out about the following events: 2nd Annual MvR taking place on June 15 in Plainville, CT; 2nd Annual Northeast States Cafe Converge taking place on August 10th in Cromwell, CT; and lastly Rockers Reunion on September 1st in Glastonbury, CT.

The only shitty thing is that more detailed information on all of these is scarce. Also, they seem to be “rides” as opposed to “meets.” Aparently they do all end up at some bar and then people meet and hang out there, but that’s not what I’m looking for. I like how at the Chicago one there is a street scetioned off for the event and there are concerts and events and merch booths set up; this is what I’m looking for. Unfortunately I probably won’t be able to even attend these “rides” because I won’t be allowed to have my bike registered.

—Inspiration bikes

FullerHotrods_CafeRacer

Japanese flag bike Fuller Hot Rods

Cafe_Bober(tape_exaust)

Black bike from ride apart on Drive

CafeRacer_J&B_Moto

J&B moto

—–Additional Links

Ton Up Club Chicago – seemingly the event organizers for Mods VS Rockers

Good Spark Garage – a lot of Cafe Racer media, vids, etc.

Steel Toe Press – cafe race graphic design

Dues Ex Machina – custom motorcycle shop; I’ve posted about this before

Motoworks Chicago – motorcycle dealer

Ruby Helmets – beautiful French motorcycle helmets; I’ve posted about this before

However, these aren’t really that helpful to me because there are none in my area. I guess I’ll just have to move to Chicago (which wouldn’t be so bad because I was already thinking about moving there because I like it so much there).

—-

Note to self, you drafted this post on January 31st of 2013.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random/Thoughts

Leave a Reply

