The Music In My Head

This is my own sort of remix to The Beatles – You Know My Name (Look Up The Number)

This all came about when I was listening to Past Masters Vol. 2 the other day. The last song on the album is You Know My Name (Look Up The Number). I never choose to listen to that song because it is pretty weird, but for whatever reason I decided to give it a chance. Upon listening to it this time, it was instantly apparent that the drum beat had a very hip-hop “boom bap” to it.

Noticing this, I began to search Google to see if anyone else had noticed this and sampled it in a rap or hip-hop song before. To my surprise, seemingly no one had. (However, I’m sure one of you will do a more extensive Google search than me and find out that someone has in fact used it).

I then took the song into GarageBand and cut it up, leaving only the intro piano, the lead in piano with the “boom bap” drums, and the chorus. I then made a loop out of the lead in piano with the drums that formed  most of the structure for the song.

After that I got to work writing lyrics. The subject for the song presented itself through the title of the original song. I used it to talk about a girl that my friend had brought with him  to karaoke one week who gave me her number but never returned my text. What a tease, lol. In any case, that then led to the 2nd and 3rd sections of the song being about Highland Kitchen, The People’s Karaoke, and my ongoing search for a gal.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random/Thoughts

Leave a Reply

