Public Speaking

I can’t believe I have never mentioned this before. Martin Scorsese’s 2010 documentary about Fran Liebowitz is one of the best documentaries I’ve ever seen, and is one of my favorite movies.

The other day I was conversing with someone about how people say things always used to be “better,” and it made me think of Fran’s argument about New York and how it used to better, and how there is always an intrinsic truth about that statement, that being, that you were younger, and thus, you know it’s better to be younger than it is to be old… or something along those lines.

This is one of those movies that I want to share with everyone that I care about because I feel it’s important; because I feel that regardless of weather or not you agree with her view points, that you can learn something, or take something away from them, and that her way of speaking is very convincing, and very good at changing your own thought process, and making you feel like she is definitively correct.

[continuing from the previous previous paragraph] There are actually several things, take aways, that I find, not all the time, but occasionally creep back up into my brain, that I think of because they are things that she’s said, and because they are often relevant. (Ex. what she says about the idea that TV would never catch on because the screen doesn’t fill the room and how people would be too distracted by the other objects in the room to be fully immersed.)

All I have to say is Public Speaking is On Demand (free with an HBO subscription) until the end of the month, and I highly recommend you watch it. Even if you’ve seen it before (like I had) watch it again.

PS Apparently Fran is doing a talk at the Ridgefield Playhouse in Connecticut on the 22nd of this month. I feel like I should probably go and see it as who knows when else I’d be able to see her speak live publicly.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random/Thoughts

Leave a Reply

