Goodwood

June 26th marks the coming of this year’s Goodwood Festival of Speed. This festival is one of the many things on my “bucket list.” I realized however, that I don’t really have a bucket list. I have several lists in several locations with ideas of things to do and places I want to go, but I don’t know if they’re all in one place.

The thing is that part of me tries to plan aspects of my life, like big vacations, far in advance so that I won’t forget to do them or so that I have something to look forward to, or so that I give myself enough time to plan them out. The problem with that is, in an ever changing life, it’s hard sometimes to stick to your goals. Things change or come up, and suddenly that thing you were planning on doing this summer has to be moved to next summer.

For example, ever since last year I had decided that this year I would finally go to the San Diego Comic Con. I was/am on the mailing list and was merely waiting for the e-mail to tell me how and when to purchase a four day pass. However, when it came a few weeks ago, I was not able to bring myself to purchase tickets. I have at least one definite summer vacation planned -a twenty year anniversary trip to Disney World with my family celebrating 20 years since the first time we went as a family- for August.

I also have another potential trip planned that only a handful of people know about and I dare not speak it’s name for fear that if I do, it won’t actually happen and I will disappoint both you all, and myself. I’m weirdly superstitious like that. So, yeah, that’s a lot of money I have to save up and potentially spend so I couldn’t see greedily trying to squeeze in Comic Con and therefore three “summer vacation” vacations.

I guess what I’m saying is, you kind of can’t plan you’re life, all you can try and do is your best to stick to things. The important ideas will eventually prevail. Additionally, I need to conglomerate these and make an official, all be it unconventional, bucket list. Perhaps that will be my next post. I’m not getting any younger and I want to squeeze some of this shit in before I start to feel too old.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random/Thoughts

Leave a comment