Men In Black Excursion

Continuing my “media based” adventures I started my day by venturing into Queens. My destination was Flushing Meadows Corona Park. The reason was simple, I wanted to see the “space ships” from Men In Black. Additionally, I’d never been to Queens before, so, two birds.

MetalWorldStructureGiant structure of the world in Flushing Meadows Corona Park

After walking from the 7 train and finally finding the entrance to the park I could see in the distance a metal structure of the globe and the MIB “space ships.” I walked all the way to the other side of the park and ended up at the metal structure. It was set in the middle of a fountain, but because it is winter time, the fountain was empty. So, I was able to walk right up to and underneath it.

I could see the “space ships” off to the left but right behind the globe was a building. I didn’t know what it was and it was closer to the globe than the “space ships” so I decided to check it out.

NewYorkPanoramaPanoramic of New York at the Queens Museum

I walked passed the globe and made my way to what I would find out to be the Queens Museum. I have several other museums on my To Do list but this was not one of them. I decided to go in anyway and ask what it was about. I found out that it is apparently an arts and cultural museum. On top of that, rather than have a set price, there was a suggested donation. The suggested price was $8 but I decided to pay $5 because I’m on a tight budget.

The first thing I did was to check out the Panoramic of New York. In short it is basically a giant miniature (oxymoron) of the five boroughs. This was really cool to me. Not only can you pick out every detail in Manhattan, but you can also see the layout of the parks and the neighborhoods and the bridges and the airports. There were even miniature airplanes suspended from wires that would take off and land at LaGuardia.

NewYorkPavillionThe back side of the New York Pavilion from the 1964-65 World’s Fair

After making my way through the Queens Museum I finally walked over to the New York Pavilion aka the “space ships” from MIB. The cool thing about this park is that it is the former sight of the 1939 and the 1964-65 World’s Fair. There is an entire section of the museum dedicated to that fact and the brochure’s and memorabilia related to it.

Walking up to the pavilion I felt a strange sense of ceremony. This has been standing for so long; it never got taken down. There is no real reason for it to still be there, and yet it is. (Side note: there is a skatepark on the other side of the pavilion.)

TheMagicShopCheck out the label under the doorbell

The next “media based” destination I went to was inspired by the HBO mini-series Sonic Highways. In the last episode, which takes place in New York, the band records at a studio called The Magic Shop. It’s a hidden little gem in Soho that you wouldn’t know was there unless you were looking for it.

By the time I got there I was certain they were closed, so I didn’t bother ringing the bell. However, now that I know where it is and how easy it is to get to, I might go another day and try to do the same thing I did at the Tested studio, ring the bell and see what happens.

The last thing I did before heading back to Crown Heights for the evening was to grab a bite at Taka Taka. I had seen the restaurant a couple years ago during a different New York adventure and had always wanted to try it. However, I was always too busy and never got around to it. The appeal was that the sign said “Japanese Tacos, Mexican Sushi.” The only negative thing I found out was that it is pretty expensive. Being on a tight budget, I deprived myself of the tacos (what I really wanted) and instead order the soup. It was good but not filling. I’ll have to go back when I have some money and get the tacos, but at least for now I can say I’ve been there.

1 Comment

Filed under Travel/Adventure

One response to “Men In Black Excursion

  1. Pingback: Experimental Prototype Community of Tomorrow |

Leave a Reply

