Super(bowl) Weekend

Saturday the 31st

So, if you hadn’t figured it out by now, I get enjoyment out of just going places and seeing things. A few weeks ago I saw an add for the Fulton Center, “New York’s Newest Public Space.” When I got home I looked it up and found that it is new as of this past November. I had organically been to the station before but had never needed to change trains there, or if I had, never needed to go through the main area and thus never saw the cool section featured in the video below.

Finally, the other night I had to change trains there and got a momentary glimpse of the skylight (pictured below). I also had the trippy experience of walking through the hall with the video art installation New York Minute. After that glimpse, I decided to make a little trip of it on Saturday morning (last week).

FultonCenterSkylightThe skylight at the Fulton Center/Fulton Street station

I rode out to the Fulton Street station and just took my time looking at all the advertisement and beautiful interior architecture. I was not able to tell whether there were shops there yet, but it is still just cool to stand in and look at. I was sort of on a time crunch and felt weird just wandering around a train station, so I decided to explore the financial district.

FreedomTowerFreedom Tower

I made my way passed the Freedom Tower and down to the waterfront. I found myself wishing (as has been happening a lot lately) that it was spring or summer and that I had my bike with me. The area was really nice and I happened upon a pier off which launch helicopter tours.

Waterfront_FianacialDistrictThe waterfront by the financial district looking out to Brooklyn.

After making my way up and down the waterfront, I headed back to the station and went to my new friend Elle’s apartment to work on music.

Sunday February 1st

One of the things I’ve always wanted to do is to get a good New York bagel. So, I Googled, best bagels in New York. Upon planning my Sunday, I realized that Terrace Bagels (one of the ones on the list) was right near Prospect Park, one of the things on my “to do” list and thus decided to go there for breakfast.

As I was walking up I got nervous because there was a big fire truck double-parked right outside the shop. Of course the day I go there, they have a fire. However, when I went in what I found instead was a chief and like ten of his men yelling stuff like, “Yeah, can we get three everything bagels with cream cheese?” in thick New York accents.

After eating half of my sandwich (and taking the rest with me) I made my way over to and through Prospect Park. This is the Central Park of Brooklyn and the surrounding area, Prospect Heights is beautiful. There were kids sledding down the small hills and I was suddenly smiling, brought back to a time when I was a kid and that was me. I enjoyed the calm and the quiet and the cold as I made my way to Grand Army Plaza where I took the train into Manhattan.

I got out at Canal Street and made my way to Opening Ceremony. OS is a high end fashion store I had found out about while looking for retailer of a brand called ICNY. (If I haven’t talked about them before, ICNY makes cool reflective clothing for cyclists). Unfortunately, OS only sold the sock and I was looking for the shirts, so I left.

Next I made my way uptown to the Intrepid Museum. I have know about and wanted to visit the Intrepid for a while but now I finally went there… sort of. I basically just looked at it from the sidewalk because I didn’t want to spend the $25 for admission. To be honest, the only real thing I wanted to see there was the Concorde. I guess if you pay a special price for the tour they let you go on it. Though I didn’t go on it, I did get a good glimpse of it.

Concorde_IntrepidMuseumSo close…

During my time looking at Concorde, I gained the urge to pee. Fortunately as I was making my way over to the waterfront I passed a place called Gotham West Market. It looked cool and I wanted to check it out but had no reason to, until now. Basically, the place is a conglomerate of restaurants where each place has its own section that flows into one another, like a high end hipster food court.

Fortunately, because of this layout I was able to go to the restroom without being detected by someone who might out me for taking advantage of it. On my way out, I passed this one restaurant that had a glass fridge filled with tons of craft beers I’d never heard of before. Definitely a place I’d like to check out at a later date.

Studio54The Roundabout Theatre, formerly Studio 54

With an empty bladder, I made my way to my next location, Studio 54. Again, I didn’t want or need to go in, I just wanted to look at the famed location where so much cool shit went down in the 70s and the 80s. Sadly now it’s back to just being a theatre. After a moment of silence, I moved on.

I would not have thought to check out the Phillips Auction Gallery if it had not been for the fact that it was posted on the Opening Ceremony blog. And I was only on the OS blog because, as you know I was looking for ICNY merch. The gallery had a cool display of fashion photography from photographer Steven Meisel. I checked out the the art for a bit before making my way to my last stop.

Bike New York is a company I found out about through an add on the subway. They are, apparently a non-profit that helps teach people how to ride as well as sponsor group rides through the city. Unfortunately I went all the way to 116th street just to find that they were closed. I should have figured. It was a Sunday after all. After that I made my way back to Brooklyn to pick up the snacks I had bought for the Superbowl Party I was planning on attending.

Superbowl Party at Elle’s apt

I grabbed my things and then made my way over to my friend Elle’s apartment. I was planning on stopping off at Brooklyn Beer and Soda, a liquor store that apparently has a plethora of beers to choose from. However, upon looking them up, I found that they were already closed, so, I just went straight to their place.

I can’t really even put my finger on what was so cool about it, but once the crew showed up it ended up being a really fun night. Everyone was really nice and it just felt like we’d all been friends forever. We drank and joked and talked and ate and barely watched the game and to top it all off, the Pats one. Pretty solid Sunday. Pretty super weekend.

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel/Adventure

Leave a Reply

