James Bonding

I’m very late to the party on this one, but a couple of years ago Matt Mira and Matt Gourley started a podcast called James Bonding. Last week (er the week before) I decided to start listening to it after hearing about it several times on The Nerdist podcast. I’ve been binge listing to it ever since; I can’t get enough of it. There are so many moments when I wish I could just chime in during their conversation. Whether it be to add my 2 cents or help them when they can’t think of details, facts, songs, names, etc.

JamesBonding

The cool thing about listening to the podcast is that it has reawakened the inner Bond fan in me. I have always been a Bond fan, but, like many things in life, it had a golden age in my existence. Listening to these episodes has really made me want to revisit the Bond films. Specifically, the ones to which I gave little attention or the ones that I really like. Perhaps with this new knowledge and insight I might like them better. Even if I don’t like them better it would be nice to just give them a second chance.

One of the things that the podcast does with each new guest is to ask them how they got into James Bond. This got me to re-think how Bond crept his way into my life. My Bond awakening came in a weird way. I remember watching Doug on Nickelodeon and loving the character Smash Adams. I remember thinking that a character like that would be cool to see in a movie and thinking that he could be played by Michael Jackson. I was all about MJ back in the day.

Overhearing me talk about this, either my Mom or Dad told me that there was a spy series called James Bond (I think I was subconsciously aware of Bond, but knew nothing about it) and I’m pretty sure they rented Goldfinger for me. My dad had also recently seen Tomorrow Never Dies in the theaters and bought it when it came out on DVD. I watched it with him and was hooked. I spent the next several years going on a JB bender; renting all of the movies and eventually getting them on DVD.

In 1998 my family went on vacation to Paramount’s Kings Dominion. At the time they had just released a motion simulator ride called James Bond: License to Thrill. I remember loving it and now, with older eyes,  it’s cool to think about how perfectly the timing of the ride’s release, my getting into Bond, and our vacation all are. I got a hat from the ride, owned a Big Dogs: Bone, James Bone t-shirt, and even had a Bond board game.

I could go on about my fandom, what movies are my favorites and what Bonds I like best, but I don’t have the energy right now. Perhaps I’ll add to this later. All I’m saying is that I’m glad to be back into Bond and I look forward to watching them the next time I’m home. Also, if you’re a Bond fan and have yet to check out the podcast, I highly recommend you check it out. They still haven’t finished reviewing all of the movies so it’s not too late to catch up.

Sidenote: Paul F. Tompkins has been a guest on their show twice and I feel like he is the perfect third person to their crew. The three of them gel well together and he seems to be on the same wavelength as them. He’s great.

1 Comment

Filed under Random/Thoughts

One response to “James Bonding

  1. Pingback: 23 Weeks of Bond |

Leave a Reply

