Belated Birthday

So if you didn’t know or figure out by the previous post, June 4th was my birthday. A month ago, on May the 4th be with you, I sent out a mass e-mail to about 30 of my friends, inviting them to come to a birthday celebration on Saturday the 6th (yesterday). Since last year was such a bust, I wanted to try and rectify it by giving people way more than enough notice to clear their schedule and to be able to attend.

However, as the date approached I was getting more and more “No’s.” I was beginning to re-think my decision and was almost going to cancel since I didn’t think that pretty much anyone would come. But, I figured it’s a Saturday night, regardless of my birthday I should probably go out and have fun.

I had planned an epic six bar bar-crawl including: Culture Club, 230 Fifth, the 40/40 Club, Bowery Electric, The Back Room and The Alligator Lounge. I had no allusions about how unrealistic it was but I figured, shoot for the moon, maybe reach a painting to the moon perched slightly out of my reach. (<–a failed attempt at humor).

So, as we reached the hour of departure I had six people that were maybe going to meet up at the first spot, Culture Club. Luckily, a few days ago, a friend -Nina- of the girls at whose apartment I am staying came by to crash for a bit. So, at around 8:30pm Nina and I left their apartment and made our way to CC. I was glad that if no one else showed up I’d at least have one person to hang out with. Granted a person I barely knew, but still I’ll take what I can get.

We arrived at Culture Club a little after 9pm only to find that it was apparently closed… forever! I texted the people who were potentially coming to let them know Nina and I were going to instead start off at 230 Fifth. In response two gal friends decided they weren’t going to come; one because of work getting out late and the other because of a lack of money. Another said he was at a different bar trying to “close” with a girl so he was as good as a “no.” Another said she would be on her way soon and the last said she’d come after she ate.

Off to a great start, Nina and I made our way down 5th to 230. There was a pretty long line to get in but it moved really fast. Once inside, we took the elevator to the bar on the 20th floor. The place was really posh. Not the type of spot I would usually find myself in. It’s where the “beautiful people” go to verbally masturbate with one another. There were a bunch of “bros” and business men and woman; “young professionals.”

By contrast, there were also a good amount of tourists, you could tell by their accent. Clearly these people had googled “roof top bar new york” and clicked the first result. I can’t hate though, that’s exactly what I did. It is undeniably a tourist attraction. No self respecting New Yorker would actually ever go there. But I am not a self respecting New Yorker, I’m basically a tourist myself and I wanted to go to a spot where I could drink a beer on a roof and look out at the city, and that is exactly what I got. Plus the weather was beautiful so I really couldn’t complain.

After grabbing drinks (I got this grapefruit beer that was really tasty) and heading to the roof, Nina and I chatted for a bit until we got a text from our friend Hannah, one of the girls whose apartment I’m staying at. She was getting in line so we made our way back down to the club area to meet her at the elevators. After we met up and she got her drink, we went back up to the roof. A random bro was kind enough to take our picture. This was the crew for the rest of the night.

230FifthNina, myself and Hannah on the rooftop bar at 230 Fifth

Despite the fact that the place was packed, we found a place to sit. I grabbed a second drink and we planned out the rest of the night. I said that though I did sort of want to check out the 40/40 Club for the novelty of it, I was willing to forgo it. As it is we felt out of place there and felt that 40/40 would have just been more of the same. I was also fine with passing on Bowery Electric as we had already been there.

The only two other places on the list were the Back Room and The Alligator Lounge. Since I go to the Alligator every other Friday for karaoke we decided to skip it. Thus, the next spot we went to was the Back Room. I was totally cool with this as I’d been wanting to check it out ever since getting to NY and the girls liked the fact that it was a speakeasy. Also, it was featured in the FOMO episode of Broad City.

After a bit of a screw up with the train, because the F wasn’t running, we ended up taking the Q to Canal St. It meant we had a bit more of a walk, but again, the weather was great and we were in no rush. We eventually made our way to The Back Room.

I was a little disappointed by the fact that there was a bouncer at the sidewalk entrance because it sort of ruined the mystique. After getting your ID checked, you then walk down these stairs that lead to an ally that leads to an opening and another set of stairs with a door at the top that leads into The Back Room.

TheBackRookOverall idea of the look and feel of The Back Room from the “second” level.

TBR is not only a speakeasy themed bar but it also actually used to be a speakeasy, which to me makes it a little cooler. Just as was the case at 230 Fifth, no self respecting New Yorker would actually ever go there, it is purely for the novelty. However, it was still pretty rad. The cocktails are served in tea cups as to not arouse the suspicion of any undercover cops and the beer is served in a coffee mug. If you get a bottle it is served in a brown paper bag.

After standing by the DJ booth for a bit, we sniped an opening at the couch across the room. We sat and chatted for a bit and just enjoyed the atmosphere. We decided after finishing our one drink each to grab a 99 cent slice of pizza before making our way back to Brooklyn. However I didn’t let us leave without getting another group photo.

TheBackRoom2I look super drunk in this pic, however, I assure you I was squinting because of the super bright flash on my phone. Additionally, I insisted we take in pic in front of the painting of the naked lady. It reminded me of the first room from the Haunted Mansion.

Upon leaving I expertly navigated us to a nearby cheap pizza joint. I had been there before with another group of friends but was amazed that I remembered where it was/how to get there since a) that was a month or two ago and b) I was not leading the group that night.

After grabbing a quick slice we made our way back out to Delancey where Hannah hailed us a cab. I would have been fine with taking the train because I’m cheap, but she paid for it so I don’t really care. Although I do sort of feel obligated to chip in so that might have to happen, oh well.

So what have I learned from all this? Basically something I should have known from the beginning but failed to listen to myself yet again which is this: don’t plan parties for yourself! Don’t plan any events of any kind ever because no one is ever able to come to your events. This is not a “Oh, feel bad for me” statement, it is simply the truth. I have had plenty of lessons in this and have not learned from any of them.

Perhaps now I finally will. Don’t get me wrong, it was a fun night and I’m glad it happened. I’m not mad at any of my friends who weren’t able to show up. I’m also genuinely not upset or bitter about this. I just need to give up trying because these things just never work out for me; FACT.

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel/Adventure

Leave a Reply

