Top 50 Movies

I have been sitting on this post for literally years. I don’t know what I’ve been waiting for but now I’ve finally decided to post it. I would just like to say that I reserve the right to update (add or subtract) movies as I see fit.

As is the case with several posts I’ve written, this is more for me than it is for you. I always feel like I’m going to forget what my favorite movies are so I decided to finally make a list. However, rather than rank them, making the process more difficult, I’ve decided to simply put them in alphabetical order. More specifically, these are movies that make my heart ache after seeing them and wish I were doing more, or rather make me want to do more with my life. I’m sure this list will change as I’ve no doubt forgotten some or put in others that may not really deserve to be here. But, nevertheless, here it is (with 9 question marks- ones I’m not sure deserve to be here):

Adaptation

AKIRA

Alien

Almost Famous

Antichrist

Artist, The (?)

Bandits

Big Fish (?)

Catch Me If You Can

Cool Hand Luke

Cloud Atlas

Darjeeling Limited, The

Enter The Void

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Exit Through the Gift Shop

Fight Club (?; too easy to say it’s your favorite)

Finding Nemo

Frances Ha

Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, The

Gone Girl

Gone in Sixty Seconds (?)

Her

Inception (?)

Interstellar

Jackie Brown

Juno (?)

La Haine

Lord of War

Lost In Translation

Man On Wire

Matrix, The

Metropolis (anime)

Midnight In Paris

Monsters, Inc.

Moonstruck

Nightcrawler (?)

No Country For Old Men

Panic Room (?)

Public Speaking

Rushmore

Senna

Shawshank Redemption, The

Skeleton Twins, The

Synecdoche New York

THX-1138 (?)

Unbreakable

V for Vendetta

Waking Life

Wall-E

You’ve Got Mail

—Some were too obvious to include

Star Wars (original trilogy; too easy to say it’s your favorite)

Indiana Jones (original trilogy; too easy to say it’s your favorite)

Back to the Future (trilogy; too easy to say it’s your favorite)

James Bond (the complete series; too easy to say it’s your favorite)

Godfather Part I, The (too easy to say it’s your favorite)

Breakfast Club, The (too easy to say it’s your favorite)

Leave a comment

Filed under Random/Thoughts

Leave a Reply

