Japan + Design

I’ve know about the redesign of Narita Airport’s Terminal 3 for a year or so now. However, since making the firm decision that next summer I will be taking a trip to Japan, it was recently re-introduced into my brain.

The terminal has a very clean and straightforward “running track” design. The signage is clear and large; regardless of what language you speak you can easily figure out where to go. It is very reminiscent of an IKEA.

While looking at various pictures, articles and videos about Terminal 3, I found that a company called MUJI did all of the interior design for the airport. So now they are my new favorite furniture/design company… at least for the moment.

While Googling where there were MUJI stores in the US, I came across a store called Loyal Supply Co. Not only do they apparently carry some of their products, but they are located in Somerville, the city in which I currently reside.

img_4916Loyal Supply Co.

I say this all the time but sometimes it’s fun to be a tourist in your own town. Had I not looked up this other store I might have never know that this place exists despite the fact that it is right in Union Square.

It is a very small boutique with super hipster-y curated goods. Most of the stuff is knick-knacks and things that no one really needs, like $15 bars of artisanal soap. However, like Black Ink, there is a lot of cool stuff in there; definitely good for a goodie bag for mom or a girlfriend.

—Upcoming things

October: The Voyage of Time

Terrence Malick (The Tree of Life) brings us what promises to be a mind bending drama/documentary about the universe.

November: Woman

cicicicicWoman album art

Justice is coming out with their third studio album.

Arrival – movie comes out; could be good.

December: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

I’m very excited for this to come out.

Passengers – movie comes out; also could be good

I feel like I’m forgetting something but I always feel that way. If I think of it or figure it out, I’ll add it later.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random/Thoughts, Travel/Adventure

Leave a Reply

