What I’m Watching

None of this is new. I’m not saying I discovered any of this. However, as was the case with the previous post, after seeing it, I knew I had to reccomend these next shows.

Abstract: The Art of Design – Netflix

Unlike most people, I try my best not to “binge watch” shows on Netflix; I like spreading things out. I try to pretend that the shows are weekly series, giving myself a start day -Monday for example- and making that my ‘day to watch that show.’

Abstract, appeals to me for a few different reasons. The first being that I really enjoy documentary series. The next being that since I am a student of design, I really enjoy and appreciate art and design in all of it’s facets. When you see a piece of good design, regardless of the discipline, it sticks with you. Watching shows like this always motivates me to go out and create more art, more design, more… whatever.

Hip-Hop Evolution – Netflix

This next show sat in my queue for a long time. Not because I wasn’t sure I wanted to watch it, but because I wanted to find someone to watch it with. Eventually, I could wait no longer and decided to just put it on.

Though I’ve only seen one of the four episodes in this mini-series/documentary, I already love it. I’ll be honest, I’m not the biggest hip-hop connoisseur. I like the genre, but it’s not my go to for music to listen to. That said, I love hip-hop culture. I love streetware, graffiti, break dancing, the lot.

One of my favorite documentaries, which I’ve mentioned before on this blog, is called Style Wars, a graffiti documentary from the ’80s. Something about that old school New York rawness is really appealing to me. So far, at least in this first part, that is the same sort of vibe I’ve gotten from Hip-Hop Evolution.

The Grand Tour – Amazon Prime

This may be the most mainstream of all my recommendations so far. For those that don’t know, The Grand Tour is essentially a rebranded version of the BBC’s Top Gear. I’ll admit that I thought it was a bit over the top in terms of silliness vs car reviews. But, it’s still great to see these three working together on a motoring program again.

Other recommendations/what I’ve watched lately:

Paris Is Burning – Netflix

I forget where I first heard about this but I was maybe a year ago. Finally, when searching for something to watch on “the flix,” I found it. Paris Is Burning is a documentary about the drag scene in New York in the late ’80s.

Suited – HBO

I feel like I stumbled upon this one too. Suited is a documentary about a tailor shop in New York that specializes in making suits for transgender and gender non-conforming men and women.

Dave Chappelle Stand Up Specials – Netflix

Chappell is undisputed one of the kings of comedy. Netflix just released two stand up routines from Dave. I’ve only seen the first one so far, and though I didn’t think it was as good as Killin’ Them Softly or For What It’s Worth, I did really like it. Especially towards the end.

Chappell is the master of embedding an idea or a theme in his routine that you are subconsciously aware of when you’re watching it. And then, at the end, like a magician revealing his secrets, he hits a crescendo and sticks the landing.

Big Little Lies – HBO

This show is a guilty pleasure. I saw the ads for it and figured that generally speaking HBO doesn’t steer me wrong. I didn’t want to like it, but since it’s one of these, starts at the end and works it’s way back type of series, I knew after watching the first episode that, like it or not, I had to keep watching. The show is basically a soap opera but each episode is better and more confusing and I need to find out how it ends!

Girls – HBO

I’ve been with Girls since day one, episode one. C’mon, it’s the final season, you gotta watch it.

Last Week Tonight – HBO

Always solid. Nuff said.

Coming Soon

Archer: Season 8 – FXX

Archer has sort of gone down hill since they did all of the Archer Vice crap (in my humble opinion). However, I do look forward to seeing more of this show regardless. Plus, noir Archer could be dope. Archer Dreamland premiers on April 5th.

Mystery Science Theater 3000 – Netflix

This reboot of the 1990s cult classic is set to star Jonah Ray in the role he was born to play. To be honest, I was never a huge fan of the original MST3K (my dad loved it and he got me into it), however I really like Jonah Ray and I’m interested to see how it goes. All episodes available April 14th.

Silicon Valley: Season 4 – HBO

Despite the fact that the series feels the need to inexplicably reinvent itself (as a means to add drama?) I’m looking forward to more ridiculousness and more of the Pied Piper crew. Season 4 premiers on April 23rd.

Master of None: Season 2 – Netflix

Returning for season 2 on May 12th, Master of None was one of my favorite Nexflix shows of 2015. I look forward to finally having more and seeing what happens with the characters I love.

Stranger Things: Season 2 – Netflix

This is no surprise. Stranger Things is a show that captured the imagination of… well… a lot of people. As we speak, I am going back and watching Season 1 as a means of prepping for Season 2. Also, I wanted an excuse to watch it again. All episodes of Season 2 will be available this Halloween.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random/Thoughts

Leave a Reply

