Parents LA Visit – Day 2

Sunday – August 15, 2021

I had been a little nervous about this day ever since putting it on the calendar. We woke up at 6:15am and left at 7am to get to the Brush Canyon trailhead by 7:30am. I wanted to take my folks on a hike to the back of the Hollywood sign. Though not difficult in terms of terrain, I was worried that the steepness might make it difficult for them, in particular for my Mom.

As we got up the beginning of the first leg, my Mom asked for us to stop and rest. After a short while we continued but around a thousand feet later, she asked for us to stop again. I said that if we kept stopping, it would take us a very long time to reach to top. Eventually, after a third break, she decided that she did not want to go any further. We weren’t even a quarter of the way done. I gave her the Liquid Death I’d bought for her and my car key so she could hike back down and sit in the car and rest and wait for us.

IMG_6342

Dad and I then continued the rest of the hike to the top and completed it in 1 hour and 13 minutes. I know this because I timed it on my phone. After taking a few pics at the top, we made our way back down to the bottom by 10am. Mom was waiting for us at the gate and had been back and forth between the car and the gate. She told us she was the “official dog greeter” so I was glad that she was keeping herself busy.

IMG_6343

We then drove back to my apartment where we got showered and dressed and ready for the second half of the day. We took the 11:57am bus to LACMA. We arrived at ~12:25pm but our entry time wasn’t until 1pm (the museum made you purchase a ticket with timed entry). So, we walked over to the La Brea Tar Pits which were fairly unimpressive. After taking a few pictures we make our way back over to LACMA where they luckily allowed us to enter a little early.

IMG_6360

Though the collection was pretty cool and there was a lot of interesting artwork on display, it was the wrong choice to add something with so much walking to come after a ~5 mile hike. We ended up walking around for ~2 hours and collectively decided to skip the second building since our feet were so tired. We took the bus back to the apartment and got back around 3pm. I used the time to read and photoshop Mom into a picture of the three of us at the Hollywood sign.

IMG_6375

After that I drove us to Burbank to go to Bob’s Big Boy for dinner. Along the way we passed Warner Brothers Studios which made Mom happy since that’s where they used to film The Big Bang Theory. We arrived at 5:30pm and had a good unhealthy meal. Once back home, I showed them the first two episodes of Ted Lasso which they really enjoyed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel/Adventure

Leave a comment