Movies and TV – September 2021

Xfinity

Nora From Queens: Season 2 – I loved the first season of this show; it felt like a continuation of Broad City or something. I didn’t know there was a second season until I rode by a billboard for it. So far season 2 is just as good.

Netflix

Travels With My Father – I saw an trailer on YouTube for what I thought was a new show only to find out there had already been several seasons. I love travel shows and I thing Jack Whitehall is great. I’ve only watched the first episode of the first season. Though it was good and I found it to be funny, I haven’t been compelled to watch more.

Sex Education: Season 3 – I have been looking forward to this for a while and was glad to finally watch the first episode of this season. So far I’m liking what I see and looking forward to this “school year’s” hijinks.

Schumacher – Ever since I started following Formula 1 I have been interested in most things involving the sport. Though I’m not a Schumacher fan, I enjoyed the documentary and learning about his life.

Countdown Inspiration 4 Mission To Space – So far I’ve only watched the first episode but I’m hooked. Initially, I was turned off by the tech bro douchebag that is the leader for the mission. However, as I learned more about the mission and was introduced to the second recipient of the “golden ticket,” my mind about the show had changed. I was moved to tears by the second woman’s story so now I’m interested to see how things go.

Hulu

Archer: Season 12 – After rewatching seasons 1 through 11 over the past however many months, I finished shortly after season 12 started. I just watched the first episode the other day and it was fine. The show has been going down hill for a while, but if you can accept it for what it is, it’s pretty good.

Disney+

Star Wars Visions – This has yet to air, however, when I initially heard about this I was sort of uninterested. I haven’t been super impressed by the other cartoon Star Wars shows and to be honest, I’ve skipped most of them. However, to quote Norm Chan, this feels like “the Animatrix but for Star Wars.” I did eventually watch the trailer and what I saw was impressive. My curiosity is piqued and I’m now looking forward to it.

I just watched the first episode but what I saw I loved. There is so much I want to say about The Duel but I don’t want to spoil it. It reminded me of Afro Samurai in tone and style. I also loved how they used calligraphy style lettering to write the title in “galactic basic” but made it look like Japanese kanji. They also did a lot with the music that were subtle nods to some of the movies. I’m looking forward to seeing the other stories.

Apple TV+

Long Way Round – I had watched 80% of this show when it was on Netflix back in 2017. However, it got taken down before I could finish it. So now I’m starting from the beginning again. I really enjoy this travel series; seeing the different places they go and struggles they overcome. I love the friendship Ewan and Charley have and their humor. I’m looking forward to finishing it this time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random/Thoughts

Leave a comment